Decree N ° 2006 - 1099 Dated October 12, 2006

Original Language Title: Décret n° 2006-1099 du 12 octobre 2006

Read the untranslated law here:

Ministry of the Interior and of communities local Decree No. 2006 - 1099 12 October 2006 Decree No. 2006-1099 of 12 October 2006 on the establishment of the Koungheul Department.


The policy of decentralization undertaken by the State of Senegal in way irreversible and to closer every day the administration of its users, a rebalancing of the territorial administrative structures is operated through an administrative division.

However, the recent land reforms did not achieve the objectives of streamlining the territorial administrative organization. Therefore, it was found that the extent of the Kaffrine Department does not allow an optimal administrative framework likely to support, in a satisfactory manner, the concerns of local populations, including through the approximation of its managed Administration.

To remedy this, it is proposed to split the current Kaffrine Department into two entities: Kaffrine and koungheul. The latter, built in autonomous Department with as Chief Koungheul, comprises the municipality of Koungheul and the Maka Yop Arrondissement.

Such is the economy of this Decree.

The President of the Republic, pursuant to the Constitution, particularly articles 43 and 76;

Having regard to Act No. 72-02 of February 1, 1972 on the Organization of Territorial Administration as amended;

Having regard to Decree n ° 2002 - 166, 21 February 2002 fixing spring territorial and capital regions and departments, amended by Decree No. 2005 - 339 of 15 April 2005;

Having regard to Decree No. 2004 - 561 of 21 April 2004 concerning the appointment of the Prime Minister;

Considering Decree No. 2004-243 of March 17, 2006 appointing ministers and establishing the composition of the Government.

Mindful of Decree No. 2006-267 of 23 March 2006 concerning allocation of services of the State and the control of public institutions, national societies and corporations with public participation, between the Presidency of the Republic, the Prime Minister's Office and ministries;

Report of the Minister of the Interior and local communities;

Ordained: Article 1. -The Kaffrine Department is split into two entities. One consisting of the municipality of Koungheul and the Maka-Yop arrondissement with as rural communities Gainte Pathé, Ida Mouride, Lour escale, Maka Top, Ribot escale and Saly Escale is erected into a separate Department.
The head of this Department is Koungheul.

S. 2. - the Minister of the Interior and local government is responsible for the implementation of this Decree which shall be published in the Official Journal.

[Replays in Dakar, October 12, 2006.
Abdoulaye WADE.

[By the President of the Republic Prime Minister Macky SALL. /] POPULATION of the new Department of KOUNGHEUL locality Population 2003 municipality of Koungheul 13.672 CR Ngainte Pathé 15.521 CR Ida Mouride 24.702 CR Lour Escale 15.176 CR Maka Yop 18.248 CR Ribot Escale 9.245 CR Saly Escale 19.911 Total 116.475