International Tropical Timber Agreement Of 2006

Original Language Title: Internationales Tropenholz-Übereinkommen von 2006

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
International Tropical Timber Agreement of 2006


[Equipment see Convention in German (translation)]

[Equipment see Convention in English]


The instrument of ratification signed by the Federal President and countersigned by the Federal Chancellor has been deposited on February 3, 2010, with the Secretary-General of the United Nations; the Convention is with December 7, 2011 definitively in force paragraph 1 in accordance with article 39.

After messages of the Secretary-General of the United Nations, following more States have signed the Agreement definitively or ratified, accepted or approved:

Albania, Australia, Benin, Bulgaria, China, Côte d' Ivoire, Denmark (excluding Faeroe Islands and Greenland), Germany, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand (excluding Tokelau), Netherlands (for the Kingdom in Europe), Norway, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru , Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Togo, Czech Republic, United States of America, United Kingdom, Cyprus.

Also have Belgium and the European Union notified provisional application under article 38 of the Convention.


On the occasion of the deposit of the instrument of approval, China has issued the declaration below:


In accordance with the provisions of article 138 of the Basic Law of the Special Administrative Region of Macao of the people's Republic of China and article 153 of the Basic Law of the HKSAR of the people's Republic of China, the Government of the people's Republic of China Decides that the Convention on the Special Administrative Region of Macao of the people's Republic of China shall apply, unless otherwise announced by the Government, it does not apply to the Special Administrative Region of Hong Kong.


The European Union has adopted the following Declaration on the occasion of the signing:

European Union:

In accordance with article 36, paragraph 3 of the International Tropical Timber Agreement, 2006 is specified in this policy for the areas affected by the agreement, have the responsibilities of the Member States of the European Community of this.

The European Community declares that in accordance with the Treaty establishing the European Community

-has the exclusive jurisdiction to the trade issues that are affected by the Convention within the framework of the common commercial policy and

-in the field of environment and in the area of development cooperation responsibilities sharing with its Member States.

Scope and exercise of the powers of the European Community continue to evolve naturally all the time, and the European Community is paragraph 3 of the Convention supplement this statement if required in accordance with article 36, or change.