Statute Of The Hague Conference On Private International Law

Original Language Title: Satzung der Haager Konferenz für Internationales Privatrecht

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
Statute of the Hague Conference on private international law


[Treaty text in German translation, see annexes]

[Treaty text in English language version, see equipment]

[Treaty text in French language version, see equipment]


Signed by the Federal President and countersigned by the Federal Chancellor approval document amending the Statute of the Hague Conference for international Privatrecht1, approved at the 20th diplomatic session of the Hague Conference on private international law (the Hague, 14-30 June 2005), was deposited on August 7, 2006, with the Dutch Government.

According to statement of the Dutch Government, amending the Statute for all members is entered into force on 1 January 2007.

In addition to Austria, members of the Hague Conference on private international law were as States following 1 January 2007:

Egypt, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Chile, China (including Macau Special Administrative Region), Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Canada, Republic of Korea, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Malaysia, Malta, Morocco, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand (excluding Tokelau), Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation , Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Suriname, Czech Republic, Turkey, Ukraine, Hungary, Uruguay, Venezuela, United States, United Kingdom, Cyprus.


After releases of the Dutch Government following more States, as well as following international organization have adopted since the entry into force of the amended articles of Association:


Date of deposit of the instrument of acceptance:


29 July 2014

Burkina Faso

October 16, 2013

Costa Rica

January 27, 2011


November 2, 2007

European Union2

April 3, 2007


March 13, 2008


January 19, 2011


July 14, 2010


May 17, 2013


9 April 2014

Viet Nam

10 April 2013


Another communication according to the Dutch Government the Netherlands issued the following Declaration on October 18, 2010:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands consisted of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba." The Dutch Antilles consisted of the islands of Curaçao, St. Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. With effect from October 10, 2010, the Netherlands Antilles stopped as are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Since that day, the Kingdom consists of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten enjoy the Netherlands Antilles - within the Kingdom as well as Aruba - and until October 10, 2010 internal self-government.

It's a change in the internal constitutional structure of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands remains the subject of international law with the International Convention be completed. Changing the structure of the Kingdom has therefore no consequences for the validity of international conventions ratified by the Kingdom of the Netherlands Antilles. This agreement, including any made reservations, will continue to apply for Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

The remaining islands which were part of the Netherlands Antilles - Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba - became part of the Netherlands and make "the Caribbean part of the Netherlands" as such. The previously applicable in the Netherlands Antilles Convention also continues to apply for these islands; However the Government of the Netherlands will take over now the responsibility for the implementation of this Convention."