§4255. License fees

Link to law: http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/10/105/04255
Published: 2015

Print

The Vermont Statutes Online



Title

10

:
Conservation and Development






Chapter

105

:
LICENSES






Subchapter

001
:
GENERALLY








[Subsection (a) effective until January 1, 2016; see also subsection (a) effective January 1, 2016 set out below.

 

§

4255. License fees

Subsection (a) effective until January 1,

2016; see also subsection (a) effective January 1, 2016 set out below.

(a) Vermont

residents may apply for licenses on forms provided by the Commissioner. Fees

for each license shall be:

(1) Fishing

license                                                                    $25.00

(2) Hunting

license                                                                   $25.00

(3) Combination

hunting and fishing license                           $40.00

(4) Big game

licenses (all require a hunting license)

(A)

archery license                                                       $23.00

(B)

muzzle loader license                                             $23.00

(C)

turkey license                                                         $23.00

(D)

second muzzle loader license                                $17.00

(E)

second archery license                                           $17.00

(F)

moose license                                                       $100.00



(G)

season bear tag                                                        $5.00

(H) additional

deer archery tag                                    $23.00

(5) Trapping

license                                                                  $20.00

(6) Hunting

license for persons aged 17 or under                      $8.00

(7) Trapping

license for persons aged 17 or under                   $10.00

(8) Fishing

license for persons aged 15 through 17                   $8.00

(9) Super sport

license                                                            $150.00



(10) Three-day

fishing license                                                  $10.00

(11) Combination

hunting and fishing license for persons aged 17 or under                                                                                                              $12.00

(12) Mentored

hunting license                                                 $10.00

Subsection (a) effective January 1, 2016;

see also subsection (a) effective until January 1, 2016 set out above.

(a) Vermont

residents may apply for licenses on forms provided by the Commissioner. Fees

for each license shall be:

(1) Fishing

license                                                                    $26.00

(2) Hunting

license                                                                   $26.00

(3) Combination

hunting and fishing license                           $41.00

(4) Big game

licenses (all require a hunting license)

(A)

archery license                                                       $23.00

(B)

muzzle loader license                                             $23.00

(C)

turkey license                                                         $23.00

(D)

second muzzle loader license                                $17.00

(E)

second archery license                                           $17.00

(F)

moose license                                                       $100.00



(G)

season bear tag                                                        $5.00

(H)

additional deer archery tag                                    $23.00

(5) Trapping

license                                                                  $23.00

(6) Hunting

license for persons 17 years of age or under          $8.00

(7) Trapping

license for persons 17 years of age or under       $10.00

(8) Fishing

license for persons 15 through 17 years of age        $8.00

(9) Super sport

license                                                            $150.00

(10) Three-day

fishing license                                                  $11.00

(11) Combination

hunting and fishing license for persons 17 years of age or under                                                                          $12.00

(12) Mentored

hunting license                                                 $10.00

Subsection (b) effective until January 1,

2016; see also subsection (b) effective January 1, 2016 set out below.

(b) Nonresidents

may apply for licenses on forms provided by the Commissioner. Fees for each

license shall be:

(1) Fishing

license                                                                    $50.00

(2) One-day

fishing license                                                      $20.00

(3) [Repealed.]

(4) Hunting

license                                                                 $100.00



(5) Combination

hunting and fishing license                         $135.00

(6) Big game

licenses (all require a hunting license)

(A)

archery license                                                       $38.00

(B)

muzzle loader license                                             $40.00

(C)

turkey license                                                         $38.00

(D)

[Repealed.]

(E)

[Repealed.]

(F)

moose license                                                       $350.00

(G)

early season bear tag                                              $15.00

(H)

additional deer archery tag                                    $38.00

(7) Small game

licenses

(A)

all season                                                               $50.00

(B)

[Repealed.]

(8) Trapping

license                                                               $300.00

(9) Hunting

licenses for persons aged 17 or under                  $25.00

(10) Three-day

fishing license                                                  $22.00

(11) Seven-day

fishing license                                                 $30.00

(12)

Archery-only license (does not require hunting license) $75.00

(13) Fishing

license for persons aged 15 through 17               $15.00

(14) Super sport

license                                                          $250.00

(15) Combination

hunting and fishing license for persons aged 17 or under                                                                                                  $30.00

(16) Mentored

hunting license                                                 $10.00.

Subsection (b) effective January 1, 2016;

see also subsection (b) effective until January 1, 2016 set out above.

(b) Nonresidents

may apply for licenses on forms provided by the Commissioner. Fees for each

license shall be:

(1) Fishing

license                                                                    $51.00

(2) One-day

fishing license                                                      $21.00

(3) [Repealed.]

(4) Hunting

license                                                                 $100.00



(5) Combination

hunting and fishing license                         $135.00

(6) Big game

licenses (all require a hunting license)

(A)

archery license                                                       $38.00

(B)

muzzle loader license                                             $40.00

(C)

turkey license                                                         $38.00

(D)

[Repealed.]

(E)

[Repealed.]

(F)

moose license                                                       $350.00



(G)

early season bear tag                                              $15.00

(H)

additional deer archery tag                                    $38.00

(7) Small game

licenses

(A)

all season                                                               $50.00

(B)

[Repealed.]

(8) Trapping

license                                                                $305.00

(9) Hunting

licenses for persons 17 years of age or under       $25.00

(10) Three-day

fishing license                                                  $23.00

(11) Seven-day

fishing license                                                 $31.00

(12)

Archery-only license (does not require hunting license) $75.00

(13) Fishing

license for persons aged 15 through 17               $15.00

(14) Super sport

license                                                          $250.00

(15) Combination

hunting and fishing license for persons aged 17 or under                                                                                                              $30.00

(16) Mentored

hunting license                                                 $10.00.

Subsection (c) effective until January 1,

2016; see also subsection (c) effective January 1, 2016 set out below.

(c) A permanent

or free license may be secured on application to the Department by a person

qualifying as follows:

(1) For $50.00,

a Vermont resident aged 65 or older may purchase one or all of the following

licenses:

(A) A permanent

fishing license.

(B) If the

person qualifies for a hunting license, a combination fishing and hunting

license, which shall include all big game licenses, except for a moose license.

(C) If the

person qualifies for a trapping license, a trapping license.

(2) A person who

is legally blind who is a Vermont resident may receive a free permanent fishing

license upon submittal of proper proof of blindness as the Commissioner shall

require. A person who is legally blind who is a resident in a state which

provides a reciprocal privilege for Vermont residents may receive a free

one-year fishing license.

(3) A person

with paraplegia as defined in subdivision 4001(30) of this title who is a

Vermont resident may receive a free permanent fishing license or, if the person

qualifies for a hunting license, a free combination hunting and fishing

license. A person with paraplegia who is a resident of a state which provides a

reciprocal privilege for Vermont residents may receive a free one-year fishing

license, or if the person qualifies for a hunting license, a free one-year

combination fishing and hunting license.

Subsection (c) effective January 1, 2016; see

also subsection (c) effective until January 1, 2016 set out above.

(c) A permanent

or free license may be secured on application to the Department by a person

qualifying as follows:

(1) For $50.00,

a Vermont resident 65 years of age or older may purchase one or all of the

following licenses:

(A) A permanent

fishing license.

(B) If the

person qualifies for a hunting license, a combination fishing and hunting

license, which shall include all big game licenses, except for a moose license.

(C) If the

person qualifies for a trapping license, a trapping license.

(2) A person who

is legally blind who is a Vermont resident may receive a free permanent fishing

license upon submittal of proper proof of blindness as the Commissioner shall

require. A person who is legally blind who is a resident in a state which

provides a reciprocal privilege for Vermont residents may receive a free

one-year fishing license.

(3) A Vermont

resident with paraplegia as defined in subdivision 4001(30) of this title or a

permanent, severe, physical mobility disability certified by a physician may

receive a free permanent fishing license or, if the person qualifies for a

hunting license, a free combination hunting and fishing license. A person with

paraplegia or a person certified by a physician to have permanent, severe,

physical mobility disability who is a resident of a state which provides a

reciprocal privilege for Vermont residents may receive a free one-year fishing

license, or if the person qualifies for a hunting license, a free one-year

combination fishing and hunting license.

(4) A Vermont

resident who is a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces and who is, or ever has

been, 60 percent disabled as a result of a service-connected disability may

receive a free fishing, hunting, or combination hunting and fishing license

which shall include all big game licenses, except for a moose license, upon

presentation of a certificate issued by the veterans' administration so

certifying. A resident of a state which provides a reciprocal privilege for

Vermont veterans and who would qualify for a free license under this

subdivision if the person were a Vermont resident, may receive a free one-year

fishing, hunting, or combination hunting and fishing license.

(5) A person

participating in a fishing tournament for Special Olympics may receive a free

fishing license valid for that event.

(6) In each year

a permanent license holder intends to hunt, trap, or fish, the permanent

license holder shall notify the Department that he or she will exercise his or

her hunting, trapping, or fishing privileges. Failure to notify the Department

as required by this subdivision (c)(6) shall not result in the assessment of

points under section 4502 of this title.

(d) A

nonresident student who is otherwise qualified and who is enrolled in a program

of secondary education or in a college or university within the State at which

he or she has successfully completed two successive semesters shall be entitled

to a resident fishing, hunting, or combination hunting and fishing license upon

presentation of a document from a school that affirms his or her status and

payment of the fees set forth in this section, provided the student applies for

the license to an authorized license agent.

(e) The

Commissioner shall issue honorary hunting and fishing licenses to the President

and Vice-President of the United States. The Commissioner may, at his or her

discretion, issue free licenses which are valid for one year or less.

(f)-(h) [Repealed.]

(i)(1) The fee

for a permit to trap hare and rabbits shall be $20.00.

(2) The fee for

a permit to transport minnows or bait fish shall be $50.00.

(j) If the Board

determines that a moose season will be held in accordance with the rules

adopted under sections 4082 and 4084 of this title, the Commissioner annually

may issue three no-cost moose licenses to a person who has a life-threatening

disease or illness and who is sponsored by a qualified charitable organization,

provided that at least one of the no-cost annual moose licenses awarded each

year shall be awarded to a child or young adult age 21 years of age or under

who has a life-threatening illness. The child or adult shall comply with all

other requirements of this chapter and the rules of the Board. Under this

subsection, a person may receive only one no-cost moose license in his or her

lifetime. The Commissioner shall adopt rules in accordance with 3 V.S.A.

chapter 25 to implement this subsection. The rules shall define the child or

adult qualified to receive the no-cost license, shall define a qualified

sponsoring charitable organization, and shall provide the application process

and criteria for issuing the no-cost moose license.

(k) The

Commissioner may issue multi-year hunting, fishing, trapping, or combination

hunting and fishing licenses of up to five years' duration. The cost of these

licenses shall be the sum of the license fee established by this section for

the first year, plus the cost of each additional year minus the filing fee

established by subdivision 4254(e)(9) of this title for each year.

( l ) If the

Board determines that it is in the interest of bear management, it may

authorize the Department to issue bear tags in addition to those allowed by a

hunting license issued under this chapter.

(m) The fee for

a therapeutic group fishing license issued under section 4254b of this title

shall be $50.00 per year, provided that the Commissioner may waive the fee

under this section if the applicant for a therapeutic group fishing license

completes instructor certification under the Department's Let's Go Fishing

Program. The Commissioner may, at his or her discretion, issue a free

therapeutic fishing license to an applicant. (Added 1961, No. 59, § 1, eff.

April 4, 1961; amended 1963, No. 27, § 1; 1967, No. 34, § 1, eff. March 16,

1967; 1967, No. 373 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. March 27, 1968; 1971, No. 224 (Adj.

Sess.), § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1973; 1973, No. 27, eff. Jan. 1, 1974; 1973, No. 173

(Adj. Sess.), § 2; 1977, No. 103, § 3, eff. May 6, 1977; 1979, No. 189 (Adj.

Sess.), § 1; 1983, No. 68, § 1; 1985, No. 215 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. June 2,

1986; 1987, No. 118, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1988; 1987, No. 170 (Adj. Sess.); 1989,

No. 36, § 5; 1989, No. 190 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 1991, No. 11, §§ 1-3; 1991, No.

30; 1991, No. 34, § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 1992; 1991, No. 34, § 3, eff. June 1, 1991;

1991, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.), §§ 2, 3, eff. May 27, 1992; 1991, No. 205 (Adj.

Sess.), §§ 2, 3, eff. July 1, 1993; 1991, No. 230 (Adj. Sess.), § 19; 1991, No.

254 (Adj. Sess.); 1993, No. 191 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; 1997, No. 59, § 43, eff.

Jan. 1, 1998; 1997, No. 59, § 43a, eff. June 30, 1997; 1997, No. 155 (Adj.

Sess.), § 43, eff. Jan. 1, 1999; 2001, No. 65, § 20, eff. Jan. 1, 2002; 2003,

No. 61, § 4; 2003, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), § 14, eff. Jan. 1, 2005; 2005, No. 72,

§ 11b; 2007, No. 76, § 27, eff. Jan. 1, 2008; 2009, No. 33, § 83(e)(6); 2009,

No. 120 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. Jan. 1, 2011; 2009, No. 134 (Adj. Sess.), § 29,

eff. Jan. 1, 2011; 2011, No. 33, § 11a; 2011, No. 128 (Adj. Sess.), § 35a; 2011,

No. 128 (Adj. Sess.), § 30, eff. Jan. 1, 2014; 2013, No. 78, § 9; 2013, No. 96

(Adj. Sess.), § 37; 2013, No. 116 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. May 5, 2014; 2015,

No. 57, § 24, eff. Jan. 1, 2016; 2015, No. 61, § 3, eff. Jan. 1, 2016; 2015,

No. 61, § 5, eff. June 17, 2015.)
Read Entire Law on legislature.vermont.gov