Section 34-6-32


Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now
Section 34-6-32

Section 34-6-32Application to probate judge; bond; issuance.

No license shall be issued to any person to operate any billiard room to which the public has access for amusement and recreation who is not 19 years of age and a citizen of the United States or who has been convicted of a felony. Application for license to operate a billiard room shall be first made to the probate judge of the county in which the applicant proposes to conduct the business, in the form hereafter provided, and no license shall be issued by any city or town to any person to engage in such business until after such person has made application to and has been granted a license by the probate judge of the county in which such city or town is located. Every application for license shall be accompanied by the affidavit of the applicant, sworn to before an officer authorized by law to administer oaths: that the applicant is a citizen of the United States, that he or she is of good moral character, that he or she has not been convicted of a felony, that he or she will not permit vagrants or any person under the influence of intoxicating liquors to frequent or play in his or her place of business, that the applicant will have sole personal charge and management of the business and that he or she will not permit public gambling in such place of business or permit the above described tables to be used in any manner other than as provided by law. There shall also be filed with such application a bond in the penal sum of $1,000, payable to the State of Alabama and conditioned upon the faithful performance of all provisions of this chapter, signed by the applicant as principal and either a surety company or two individuals as sureties, which bond must be approved by the probate judge and filed in his or her office. When the application and bond have been filed and approved as aforesaid, the probate judge shall issue license for the current year, or unexpired portion thereof, upon the payment of the license fees provided by the general laws of the State of Alabama.

(Acts 1923, No. 230, p. 224, §3; Code 1923, §4257; Code 1940, T. 14, §239.)