The Local Authorities (Closure of Accounts) (Wales) Order 1995

Link to law:
Published: 1995-04-04

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now
Statutory Instruments
1995 No. 1043

The Local Authorities (Closure of Accounts) (Wales) Order 1995

4th April 1995

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by paragraph 12(1) and (2) of Schedule 17 to the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994(1), hereby makes the following Order:—

Citation and Commencement

1.  This Order may be cited as the Local Authorities (Closure of Accounts) (Wales) Order 1995 and shall come into force on 4th May 1995.


2.  In this Order—

“the 1994 Act” means the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994;

“old authority” means a county or a district council which will cease to exist as a result of the 1994 Act; and

“new authorities” means the county or county borough councils established under the 1994 Act.

Designation of new authorities for closure of old authorities' accounts

3.—(1) The designated councils for the purposes of paragraph 12 of Schedule 17 to the 1994 Act are the new authorities set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each designated council is designated with respect to the old authority or authorities set out opposite thereto in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Gwilym Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Welsh Office
4th April 1995

Article 3

1 New Authorities

2 Old Authorities

Aberconwy and Colwyn County Borough Council
Aberconwy Borough Council and Colwyn Borough Council.

Anglesey County Council
Ynys Mo*n — Isle of Anglesey Borough Council.

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council
Blaenau Gwent Borough Council.

Bridgend County Borough Council
Ogwr Borough Council.

Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire County Council
Arfon Borough Council, Cyngor Dosbarth Dwyfor, Meirionnydd District Council and Gwynedd County Council.

Caerphilly County Borough Council
Islwyn Borough Council and Rhymney Valley District Council.

Cardiff County Council
Cardiff City Council and South Glamorgan County Council.

Cardiganshire County Council
Cyngor Dosbarth Ceredigion.

Carmarthenshire County Council
Carmarthen District Council, Dinefwr Borough Council, Llanelli Borough Council and Dyfed County Council.

Denbighshire County Council
Rhuddlan Borough Council and Glyndw*r District Council.

Flintshire County Council
Delyn Borough Council, Alyn and Deeside District Council and Clwyd County Council.

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council
Merthyr Tydfil Borough Council.

Monmouthshire County Council
Monmouth Borough Council.

Neath and Port Talbot County Borough Council
Neath Borough Council and Port Talbot Borough Council.

Newport County Borough Council
Newport Borough Council and Gwent County Council.

Pembrokeshire County Council
Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council and South Pembrokeshire District Council.

Powys County Council
Brecknock Borough Council, Radnorshire District Council, Montgomeryshire District Council and Powys County Council.

Rhondda, Cynon, Taff County Borough Council
Cynon Valley Borough Council, Taff-Ely Borough Council, Rhondda Borough Council and Mid Glamorgan County Council.

Swansea County Council
Swansea City Council, Lliw Valley Borough Council and West Glamorgan County Council.

Torfaen County Borough Council
Torfaen Borough Council.

The Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council
Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council.

Wrexham County Borough Council
Wrexham Maelor Borough Council.

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)
The Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 reorganises local government in Wales with effect from 1st April 1996. On that date the new councils established by the 1994 Act will take over the administration of local government from the existing authorities which will be abolished. This Order designates new councils who will be responsible for the closure of accounts of old authorities as specified.

1994 c. 19.