The Designation of Structure Plan Areas (Scotland) Order 1995

Link to law:
Published: 1995-11-16

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now
Statutory Instruments
1995 No. 3002 (S.216)

The Designation of Structure Plan Areas (Scotland) Order 1995

16th November 1995

Laid before Parliament
22nd November 1995

Coming into force
1st April 1996

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4A of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1.  This Order may be cited as the Designation of Structure Plan Areas (Scotland) Order 1995 and shall come into force on 1st April 1996.

Designation of structure plan areas

2.  The areas specified in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, being the districts of the planning authorities specified in the related entry in column 2 of that Schedule, are designated as areas in respect of which planning authorities are to prepare structure plans.

George Kynoch
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Scottish Office
St. Andrew’s House,
16th November 1995

Article 2


Column 1
Column 2

Structure Plan Area
Planning authorities

Shetland Islands
Shetland Islands Council

Orkney Islands
Orkney Islands Council

Western Isles
Western Isles Council

Highland Council

Moray Council

Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen City, and Aberdeenshire Councils

Dundee and Angus
Angus, and Dundee City Councils

Perthshire and Kinross
Perthshire and Kinross Council

Stirling and Clackmannan
Clackmannanshire, and Stirling Councils

Falkirk Council

Fife Council

Edinburgh and the Lothians
City of Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, and West Lothian Councils

Scottish Borders
Scottish Borders Council

Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries and Galloway Council

East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, and South Ayrshire Councils

Glasgow and the Clyde Valley
Dumbarton and Clydebank, East Dunbartonshire, City of Glasgow, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Renfrewshire, and Renfrewshire Councils

Argyll and Bute
Argyll and Bute Council

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)
As a result of local government reorganisation in Scotland, the functions of preparation and maintenance of structure plans fall on the new unitary authorities.
Section 33 of the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39) inserts section 4A of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1972 enabling the Secretary of State to designate structure plan areas including areas wider than the area of a single new unitary authority.
This order divides Scotland into 17 structure plan areas for the purposes of those functions.

1972 c. 52. Section 4A was inserted by the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39), section 33(1).