The Education (Listed Bodies) (Amendment) Order 1998

Link to law:
Published: 1998-03-17

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now
Statutory Instruments
1998 No. 876

The Education (Listed Bodies) (Amendment) Order 1998

17th March 1998

Coming into force
7th April 1998

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 216(2) of the Education Reform Act 1988(1), the Secretary of State for Education and Employment hereby makes the following Order:

1.  This Order may be cited as the Education (Listed Bodies) (Amendment) Order 1998 and shall come into force on 7th April 1998.

2.  To the list of bodies in Part I of the Schedule to the Education (Listed Bodies) Order 1997(2) there shall be added (at their appropriate places in alphabetical order) the bodies named in the Schedule to this Order, being bodies which appear to the Secretary of State to fall within section 216(3) of the Education Reform Act 1988.

David Blunkett
Secretary of State for Education and Employment
17th March 1998

Article 2

Ashridge Consultancy Limited

Brackenhurst College

British College of Naturopathy and Osteopathy

Brooklands College

Capel Manor Horticultural and Environmental Centre

Carmarthenshire College (CCTA)

City and Guilds of London Art School

College of North East London

College of Osteopathy Educational Trust

Community Education Development Centre, Coventry

Deeside College

Dewsbury College

Doreen Bird College of Performing Arts

East 15 Acting School

Enniskillen College of Agriculture

Franciscan Study Centre

Gestalt Centre, London, The

Guildford College of Further and Higher Education

Havering College

Humberside Partnership, The

Institute of British Payroll Managers

Institute of Psychotherapy and Social Studies

Institute of Medical Herbalists

Institute of Psychosynthesis

Italia Conti College

Kensington College of Business

Kensington Consultation Centre International

Kingsway College

Llandrillo College

London College of Classical Homeopathy

London Studio Centre

London School of Acupuncture & Traditional Chinese Medicine

Metanoia Institute

Ming-Al (London) Institute

Minster Centre

Moorlands Theological College

Mountview Theatre School, London

Newcastle College

North Lincolnshire College

North London Consortium, The

Oaklands College

Open Theological College

Psychosynthesis and Education Trust

Professional Development Centre, London Borough of Barnet

Pontypridd College

Regents Business School

Rover Group Limited

Royal Military School of Music

Royal School of Military Engineering, Chatham

Scottish Churches Open College

Society of Sports Therapy

South Cheshire College

Tavistock Clinic

Tavistock Institute


Thurso College

Waltham Forest College

Westminster College, City of

Westminster College, London

York College of Further and Higher Education

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order adds the bodies listed in the Schedule to the list of bodies in the Education (Listed Bodies) Order 1997. A body so listed is not a recognised body within section 214(2)(a) or (b) of the Education Reform Act 1988, but it either
(a)provides any course which is in preparation for a degree to be granted by such a recognised body and is approved by or on behalf of that body; or
(b)is a constituent college, school or hall or other institution of a university which is such a recognised body.
A recognised body within section 214(2)(a) or (b) of the 1988 Act is a university, college or other body which is authorised by Royal Charter or by or under Act of Parliament to grant degrees, or a body which is permitted by a body so authorised to act on its behalf in the granting of degrees. Such degrees are “recognised awards” and the provision in section 214(1) of that Act, which makes it an offence to grant, offer to grant or issue any invitation relating to certain unrecognised degrees and awards, does not apply to them.

1988 c. 40.

S.I. 1997/54.