The Combined Probation Areas (West Glamorgan) Order 1996

Link to law:
Published: 1996-03-26

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now
Statutory Instruments
1996 No. 956

The Combined Probation Areas (West Glamorgan) Order 1996

26th March 1996

Coming into force in accordance with article 1
The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (West Glamorgan) Order 1996.

(2) This Order shall come into force on 1st April 1996 save that, for the purpose of making appointments to the probation committee for the West Glamorgan Probation Area to take effect on that date, this Order shall come into force forthwith.

2.  For that part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) that relates to the West Glamorgan Probation Area there shall be substituted the following—


Petty Sessions Area
Probation Area
Number of Justices on Probation Committee

Swansea County
West Glamorgan

Neath and Port Talbot


Minister of State
Home Office
26th March 1996

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)
This Order amends the Combined Probation Area Order 1986 (S.I. 1986/1713) in line with the Lord Chancellor’s reorganisation of petty sessional divisions in West Glamorgan. Formerly, the old petty sessional divisions of Port Talbot, Lliw Valley and Neath were represented by two justices each, and the old petty sessional division of Swansea by five. The total justice representation on the West Glamorgan Committee remains unchanged at eleven justices.

1993 c. 47.

S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.