Intelligence And Security Service - Central Intelligence Committee (Ss 25-26)

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
background-color: red;

Central Intelligence Committee (ss 25-26)

[Ch2302s25]25. Establishment and composition of Committee

(1) There is established a Committee to be known

as the Central Intelligence Committee which shall consist of-

(a) the

President who shall be the chairperson;

(b) the

Vice President;

(c) the

Minister responsible for intelligence and security;

(d) the

Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation;

(e) the

Permanent Secretary to the President;

(f) the

Attorney General;

(g) the

Commander of the Botswana Defence Force;

(h) the

Director General;

(i) the

Deputy Director General;

(j) the

Commissioner of Police;

(k) the

Deputy Commander of the Botswana Defence Force;

(l) the

Assistant Chief of Staff of Military Intelligence; and

(m) the

Deputy Commissioner of Police.

(2) A member of the Committee shall not be

represented, on the Committee, by any other person in his or her absence.

(3) The Deputy Director General shall be the

secretary to the Committee.

[Ch2302s26]26. Functions of Committee

(1) The functions of the Committee shall be-

(a) to

guide the Directorate generally on all matters relating to national security

and intelligence interests;

(b) to

approve intelligence and security assessments;

(c) to

advise the President on appropriate action to be taken, or policies to be

formulated, in the interest of national security; and

(d) to

perform such other functions as are conferred on it by this Act or any other

written law.

(2) For the better carrying out of its functions

under this Act, the Committee may establish such functional committees as it

may consider appropriate.

(3) The President may prescribe the manner of discharging the functions

of the Committee under this section, including the procedure for meetings of

the Committee.