Advanced Search

Migration Regulations 1994 - Specification of Designated APEC Economies - IMMI 12/078

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month.
Commonwealth of Australia
Migration Regulations 1994
(Regulation 1.03)
I, CHRIS BOWEN, Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, acting under regulation 1.03 of the Migration Regulations 1994 (‘the Regulations’), definition of “designated APEC economy”:
1.         REVOKE Instrument number IMMI 08/096, signed on 2 February 2009, specifying designated APEC economies for the purposes of the definition of “designated APEC economy” in regulation 1.03 of the Regulations; AND
2.         SPECIFY each APEC economy set out in the Schedule to this notice as a designated APEC economy for the purposes of the definition of “designated APEC economy” in regulation 1.03 of the Regulations.
This Instrument, IMMI 12/078, commences on 1 September 2012.
Dated              15 August                               2012
Chris Bowen
Minister for Immigration and Citizenship
[NOTE 1:        The definition of “designated APEC economy” in regulation 1.03 of the Regulations provides that a designated APEC economy means an APEC economy specified by Gazette Notice for the purposes of the definition.
NOTE 2:         “APEC economy” is defined in Regulation 1.03 of the Regulations.
NOTE 3:         Subsection 56(1) of the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 provides that if the enabling legislation in relation to a legislative instrument as in force at any time before the commencing day required the text of the instrument, or particulars of its making, to be published in the Gazette, the requirement for publication in the Gazette is taken, in relation to any such instrument made on or after that day, to be satisfied if the instrument is registered.] 
Designated APEC Economy
Brunei Darussalam
The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China
Republic of Indonesia
The Republic of Korea
Papua New Guinea
People’s Republic of China
The Russian Federation
The Republic of the Philippines
Taiwan/Chinese Taipei
The United States of America
The Socialist Republic of Vietnam