Scope Of The Second Additional Protocol To The European Convention On Extradition

Original Language Title: Geltungsbereich des Zweiten Zusatzprotokolls zum Europäischen Auslieferungsübereinkommen

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month.

122. Presentation by the Federal Chancellor concerning the scope of the Second Additional Protocol to the European Convention on extradition

According to the Communications of the Secretary-General of the Council of Europe, the following countries have ratified their instruments of ratification or Accession documents to the Second Additional Protocol to the European Convention on extradition (BGBl. No 297/1983, last proclamation of the BGBl area. III No 140/2006):


Date of deposit of the instruments of ratification. Certificate of Accession:

Republic of Korea

29 September 2011


30. January 2009

On the occasion of the deposit of the instruments of ratification or These States have declared the following reservations to their accession documents. Statements made:

Republic of Korea:

With regard to Article 5 of the Second Additional Protocol to the Convention, the Republic of Korea declares that it shall, as a matter of principle, carry out transfers by diplomatic means and, in urgent cases, directly through the Ministries of Justice.



The Principality of Monaco declares, in accordance with Article 9 (1) of the Second Additional Protocol, that it reserves the right not to adopt Chapter I of the Protocol.


The Principality of Monaco shall be declared pursuant to Art. 9 (2) (lit). (b) the Second Additional Protocol that it reserves the right to adopt Chapter II of the Protocol only with regard to criminal acts in the field of indirect levies, in particular VAT, customs and foreign exchange, with the following: Criminal offences in connection with direct charges are excluded.

In addition, the Netherlands 1 on 9. January 2012 with effectiveness of 10. October 2010 states that the Protocol shall continue to apply between Curaçao, Sint Maarten and the Caribbean part of the Netherlands (the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba) and those States with which an agreement is reached on the extension of the Protocol. of the Convention.