§20-1-10  Obligation of vessels to heave-to on command of a patrol boat. –


Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Get a Day Pass for only USD$49.99.
TITLE 20

Fish and Wildlife

CHAPTER 20-1

General Provisions

SECTION 20-1-10



   § 20-1-10  Obligation of vessels to

heave-to on command of a patrol boat. –

(a) Every person operating a boat or vessel in Rhode Island territorial waters

who fails to immediately heave-to upon a shouted command or a flare fired into

the air from a marine patrol boat operated by the department of environmental

management and carrying the identification "Department of Environmental

Management, State of Rhode Island" shall be punished by a fine of not less than

twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500).



   (b) Every person who, while aboard a boat or vessel in Rhode

Island territorial waters which has been ordered to heave-to upon shouted

command or a flare fired into the air from a marine patrol boat operated by the

department of environmental management and carrying the identification

"Department of Environmental Management, State of Rhode Island," dumps,

destroys, or throws anything from the vessel or boat shall be punished by a

fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than five hundred

dollars ($500).



History of Section.

(P.L. 1981, ch. 197, § 3.)