1105.3000 Continuing Professional Education Requirements


Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
1105.3000 CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.

The requirements of continuing professional education in items A to G apply pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 326A.04, subdivision 4.

§
A.

A licensee holding a certificate with an active status shall:

§
(1)

complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) complying with this chapter each year;


§
(2)

in a rolling three-year period, complete a minimum of 120 hours of CPE complying with this chapter including at least eight hours in regulatory ethics or behavioral ethics;


§
(3)

complete the required CPE by June 30 each year; and


§
(4)

report the required CPE to the board on a form provided by the board by December 31 each year.



§
B.

A continuing professional education period is one year, from July 1 to June 30. No carryforward of CPE from one period to the next is allowed. A licensee may carryback CPE hours earned after June 30 to satisfy the requirements of a prior CPE period provided that the late processing fees specified in item E are paid. Carryback hours used to satisfy the requirements of a prior CPE period must not also be used to satisfy the requirements of the period in which they were completed.


§
C.

Certificates may not be renewed until CPE requirements of this part are met or an exception is granted.


§
D.

A licensee holding a certificate with an inactive status who elects or is required to have an active certificate shall complete at least 120 hours of CPE complying with this chapter during the three-year period preceding application for an active certificate. Such licensee shall identify and complete a program of learning designed to demonstrate the currency of the licensee's competencies directly related to the licensee's area of service.


§
E.

Failure to report CPE, failure to obtain CPE required by this part, reporting of an amount less than that required, or fraudulently reporting CPE is a basis for disciplinary action under Minnesota Statutes, section 326A.08. A licensee not in compliance with this part on June 30 of each year shall be assessed a late processing fee of $50 for the first month, or partial month, of noncompliance and $25 per month, or partial month, of noncompliance thereafter until the date the licensee is in compliance with this part and provides documentation of compliance in writing to the board.


§
F.

A licensee electing to change the status of the licensee's certificate from a status of "active" to a status of "inactive" must:

§
(1)

notify the board of the request in writing on a form provided by the board; and


§
(2)

provide the board with documentation showing completion of a minimum of 120 hours of CPE required under this chapter during the three-year period ended June 30 preceding the effective date of the status change, with a minimum of 20 hours each year.
The change in status from "active" to "inactive" is effective on January 1 following completion of subitems (1) and (2).



§
G.

The following requirements apply to licensees granted an initial certificate with an active status.

§
(1)

Licensees receiving their initial certificate between January 1 and June 30:

§
(a)

are exempt from the CPE requirement for the CPE period ended June 30 in the same year as the date the initial certificate was granted;


§
(b)

must complete the 20-hour requirement in item A by June 30 of the year following the date the initial certificate was granted; and


§
(c)

must complete the 120-hour requirement in item A by the June 30 three years after the date in which the initial certificate was granted.



§
(2)

Licensees receiving their initial certificate between July 1 and December 31:

§
(a)

are exempt from the CPE requirement for the CPE period ended June 30 in the year following the date the initial certificate was granted;


§
(b)

must complete the 20-hour requirement in item A by June 30 two years after the date in which the initial certificate was granted; and


§
(c)

must complete the 120-hour requirement in item A by June 30 four years after the date in which the initial certificate was granted.