Title 76 - Utah Criminal Code - Chapter 3 - Punishments - Part 2 - Sentencing - Section 203.13 - Enhanced penalty for unlawful sexual contact with a student.


Published: 2018-05-08

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month.

Utah Code

Page 1

Effective 5/8/2018 76-3-203.13 Enhanced penalty for unlawful sexual contact with a student. (1) A person convicted of a sexual offense described in Section 76-5-401.1 or 76-5-401.2 may

be subject to an enhanced penalty if, at the time of the commission of the sexual offense, the actor:

(a) was 18 years of age or older; (b) held a position of special trust as a teacher, employee, or volunteer at a school, as that

position is defined in Subsection 76-5-404.1(1)(c)(xix); and (c) committed the offense against an individual who at the time of the offense was enrolled as a

student at the school where the actor was employed or was acting as a volunteer. (2) The enhancement of a penalty described in Subsection (1) shall be an enhancement of one

classification higher than the offense of which the person was convicted.

Enacted by Chapter 394, 2018 General Session