Title 76 - Utah Criminal Code - Chapter 3 - Punishments - Part 3 - Fines and Special Sanctions - Section 301 - Fines of individuals.


Published: 2019-07-01

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month.

Utah Code

Page 1

Effective 7/1/2019 76-3-301 Fines of individuals. (1) An individual convicted of an offense may be sentenced to pay a fine, not exceeding:

(a) $10,000 for a felony conviction of the first degree or second degree; (b) $5,000 for a felony conviction of the third degree; (c) $2,500 for a class A misdemeanor conviction; (d) $1,000 for a class B misdemeanor conviction; (e) $750 for a class C misdemeanor conviction or infraction conviction; and (f) any greater amounts specifically authorized by statute.

(2) (a) An individual convicted of a misdemeanor or infraction and sentenced to pay a fine may not

be charged by a court: (i) notwithstanding Section 15-1-4, interest on the judgment that in the aggregate is more than

25% of the initial fine; or (ii) that issues an order to show cause under Section 78B-6-317 for failure to pay the fine,

interest that is more than 25% of the initial fine. (b) An individual convicted of an infraction and sentenced to pay a fine may not be charged:

(i) by the Office of State Debt Collection, late fees and interest that in the aggregate are more than 25% of the initial fine; or

(ii) by a third-party debt contractor of the Office of State Debt Collection, additional fees. (3) Subsection (2) does not apply to a case that includes:

(a) victim restitution; or (b) a felony conviction, even if that felony conviction is later reduced.

(4) This section does not apply to a corporation, association, partnership, government, or governmental instrumentality.

Amended by Chapter 291, 2019 General Session