Title 76 - Utah Criminal Code - Chapter 10 - Offenses Against Public Health, Safety, Welfare, and Morals - Part 1 - Cigarettes and Tobacco and Psychotoxic Chemical Solvents - Section 112 - Prohibition of distribution of a tobacco product -- Exceptions. (E


Published: 2020-07-01

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month.

Utah Code

Page 1

Effective 7/1/2020 76-10-112 Prohibition of distribution of a tobacco product -- Exceptions. (1) Except as provided in Subsection (3), it is unlawful for a manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer to

give or distribute a tobacco product in this state without charge. (2) An individual who violates this subsection is guilty of:

(a) a class C misdemeanor for the first offense; and (b) a class B misdemeanor for any subsequent offense.

(3) A tobacco product may be distributed to an adult without charge at a professional convention where the general public is excluded.

(4) The prohibition described in Subsection (1) does not apply to a tobacco retailer, a manufacturer, or a distributor that gives a tobacco product to an individual who is 21 years old or older upon the individual's purchase of a tobacco product.

Amended by Chapter 302, 2020 General Session