Title 77 - Utah Code of Criminal Procedure - Chapter 41 - Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry - Section 107 - Penalties.


Published: 2019-05-14

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month.

Utah Code

Page 1

Effective 5/14/2019 77-41-107 Penalties. (1) An offender who knowingly fails to register under this chapter or provides false or incomplete

information is guilty of: (a) a third degree felony and shall be sentenced to serve a term of incarceration for not less than

30 days and also at least one year of probation if: (i) the offender is required to register for a felony conviction or adjudicated delinquent for

what would be a felony if the juvenile were an adult of an offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9)(a) or (17)(a); or

(ii) the offender is required to register for the offender's lifetime under Subsection 77-41-105(3) (c); or

(b) a class A misdemeanor and shall be sentenced to serve a term of incarceration for not fewer than 30 days and also at least one year of probation if the offender is required to register for a misdemeanor conviction or is adjudicated delinquent for what would be a misdemeanor if the juvenile were an adult of an offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9)(a) or (17)(a).

(2) (a) Neither the court nor the Board of Pardons and Parole may release an individual who violates

this chapter from serving the term required under Subsection (1). (b) This Subsection (2) supersedes any other provision of the law contrary to this chapter.

(3) The offender shall register for an additional year for every year in which the offender does not comply with the registration requirements of this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 189, 2019 General Session