General Assembly: 78 (2000 Regular GA) - Chapter 1027 - Sexual abuse and sexual exploitation — statute of limitations


Published: 2000-03-30

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.

67 LAWS OF THE SEVENTY-EIGHTH G.A., 2000 SESSION CH. 1028

CHAPTER 1027 SEXUAL ABUSE AND SEXUAL EXPLOITATION - STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

H.F.2420

AN ACT relating to the statute of limitations for filing a sexual abuse or sexual exploitation criminal indictment or information.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 802.2, Code 1999, is amended to read as follows: 802.2 SEXUAL ABUSE OF PERSON UNDER THE AGE OF EIGHTEEN . .L An information or indictment for sexual abuse in the first, second, or third degree

committed on or with a person who is under the age of eighteen years shall be found within !We ten years after the person upon whom the offense is committed attains eighteen years of age.

2." An information or indictment for any other sexual abuse in the first. second. or third degree shall be found within ten years after its commission.

Sec. 2. Section 802.3, subsection 2, Code 1999, is amended to read as follows: 2. An indictment or information for sexual exploitation by a counselor or therapist under

section 709.15 shall be found within fi¥e ten years of the date the victim was last treated by the counselor or therapist.

Approved March 30, 2000

CHAPTER 1028 MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION PERIODS

H.F. 2480

AN ACT relating to motor vehicle registration periods and providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 321.24, unnumbered paragraph 9, Code Supplement 1999, is amended to read as follows:

A vehicle shall be registered for the registration year. A vehicle registered for the first time in this state shall be registered for the remaining unexpired months of the registration year and pay a registration fee prorated for the remaining unexpired months of the registration year. Except for a vehicle registered under chapter 326. a vehicle registered for the first time during the eleventh month of the owner's registration year may be registered for the remain- ing unexpired months of the registration year as provided in this paragraph or for the remaining unexpired months of the registration year and for the next registration year. upon payment of the applicable registration fees.

Sec. 2. Section 321.40, unnumbered paragraphs 1 and 2, Code 1999, are amended to read as follows:

Application for renewal of a vehicle registration shall be made on or after the first day of the month prior to the month of expiration of registration and up to and including the last