Section 40-12-92

Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
Section 40-12-92

Section 40-12-92Dentists.

Each person practicing the profession of dentistry in cities or towns of over 25,000 inhabitants shall pay an annual license tax of $25; in cities or towns of more than 5,000 and not exceeding 25,000 inhabitants, $15; in cities or towns of more than 1,000 and not exceeding 5,000 inhabitants, $10; in all other places whether incorporated or not, $5; but no license shall be paid the county. If such business is conducted as a firm or as a corporation in which more than one dentist is engaged, each dentist so engaged shall pay the license tax as above stated; provided, that the license tax imposed by the section shall not apply until such dentist shall have practiced his profession as long as two years. Seventy-five percent of all moneys paid into the Treasury for licenses under this section shall be paid to the secretary-treasurer of the Board of Dental Examiners each year. Such amounts shall be paid annually upon the warrant of the Comptroller drawn on the Treasury; said funds shall be used by the Board of Dental Examiners to defray the expenses of enforcing the laws of the State of Alabama relating to the practice of dentistry, for other necessary purposes and expenses of such board and in the promotion of the arts and science of dentistry in the State of Alabama. As soon after the first day of each year as practicable, the State Treasurer shall certify to the secretary-treasurer of the Board of Dental Examiners the names of dentists who have paid such license fee.

(Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256; Acts 1935, No. 435, p. 914; Code 1940, T. 51, §504; Acts 1953, No. 814, p. 1096; Acts 1961, Ex. Sess., No. 59, p. 1927.)

Related Laws