Michigan Retired Law Enforcement Officer's Firearm Carry Act (Excerpt) Act 537 Of 2008


Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$40 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$9.99.
MICHIGAN RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S FIREARM CARRY ACT (EXCERPT)
Act 537 of 2008

28.518 Circumstances requiring report to commission; failure to file report as misdemeanor; penalty.Sec. 8.

(1) A certificate holder shall immediately report to the commission in writing the circumstances of any of the following:

(a) An arrest or a conviction for a violation of any state or federal criminal law.

(b) Becoming the subject of an order or disposition in any jurisdiction that does 1 or more of the following:

(i) Restrains the certificate holder from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or a child of the intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child.

(ii) Prohibits or limits the transport, possession, carrying, or use of firearms or ammunition.

(iii) Involves an adjudication of mental illness, a finding of insanity, a finding of legal incapacity, or an order for involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting.

(c) A laboratory result reflecting the unauthorized presence of controlled substances following a drug test administered to the certificate holder.

(2) A certificate holder who fails to file a written report as required under subsection (1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.




History: 2008, Act 537, Eff. Mar. 31, 2009

© 2015 Legislative Council, State of Michigan