Section 45-25-250.03

Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
Section 45-25-250.03

Section 45-25-250.03Board of directors.

The board of directors shall consist of seven directors that shall be appointed by the members of the state Legislature that represent all or any portion of DeKalb County for terms of four years. Provided, however, that initial appointments, as designated by the appointing authority, shall be made so that two directors shall serve for two years, two directors for three years, and three directors for four years, so that the terms of the directors are staggered. All directors shall serve until their successors are appointed and assume office. As soon as may be practicable after the organization of the authority, an election shall be held by the board of directors to elect a chair, vice chair, and a secretary-treasurer. Every two years thereafter, the board shall likewise reorganize itself. No chair or other board officer shall serve more than two consecutive terms as chair or other board officer. Upon the expiration of the initial terms, directors shall serve a term of four years and vacancies shall be filled by the respective appointing authority that made the initial appointment. In the event of a vacancy in office due to death, disability, resignation, or impeachment, the unexpired term of such office shall be filled by appointment by the appointing authority. Each director appointed shall be a duly qualified elector of the county he or she represents on the board and the owner of real property in that part of the service area of the authority which lies within that county. If the articles of incorporation so provide, each director shall be compensated in the same manner as provided in Chapter 88 of Title 11, relating to directors of water, sewer, and fire protection authorities. Any director of the authority may be impeached and removed from office in the same manner and on the same grounds provided by Section 175 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, and the general laws of the state for impeachment and removal of the officers mentioned in Section 175. The DeKalb County Commission may provide office space, staff, and supplies for the authority.

(Act 89-426, p. 893, §4; Act 97-891, p. 251, §1; Act 2001-665, p. 1387, §1; Act 2003-379, p. 1074, §1.)