Continuing Education


Published: 2015

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
The Oregon Administrative Rules contain OARs filed through November 15, 2015

 

QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CONTENT OR MEANING OF THIS AGENCY'S RULES?
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS RULES COORDINATOR CONTACT INFORMATION

 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST EXAMINERS

 

DIVISION 40
CONTINUING EDUCATION

858-040-0015
Basic Requirements
(1) Licensees must earn at least 40 continuing
education credits during the period between license renewals. Continuing education
credit must be reported as follows:
(a) Licensees must submit a
Renewal Notice and Reporting Affidavit to the Board office with the fee on or before
the due date printed on the notice.
(b) An unsigned or incomplete
Renewal Notice and Reporting Affidavit shall be returned to the licensee.
(2) New Licensees. There is
no continuing education reporting required for individuals licensed twelve months
or less on their first renewal date.
(3) All active and semi-active
licensees must complete four hours of professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws
and regulations related to the practice of psychology in each reporting period.
(4) All active and semi-active
licensees must complete a minimum of seven hours of continuing education dedicated
to the topic of pain management. This is a one-time requirement.
(a) One hour must be a course
provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission.
(b) The pain management requirement
must be reported within twenty-four months of the first Renewal Notice and Affidavit.
(5) All active and semi-active
licensees must complete four hours of continuing education dedicated to the topic
of cultural competency in each reporting period.
(6) No continuing education
reporting is required for licensees requesting a change from active or semi-active
to inactive status.
(7) No continuing education
reporting is required for inactive licensees.
(8) The Board may grant exemptions
in whole or in part from continuing education requirements, including extension
of deadlines, in documented hardship cases.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 2-1999, f. &
cert. ef. 7-6-99; BPE 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-02; BPE 2-2004, f. & cert.
ef. 8-30-04; BPE 1-2008, f. & cert. ef. 3-26-08; BPE 1-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 9-28-10; BPE 1-2011, f. & cert. ef.
1-25-11; BPE 1-2011, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-11; BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert. ef.
1-1-15; BPE 2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-15
858-040-0020 [Renumbered to 858-040-0070]
858-040-0025
Continuing Education Reporting
(1) Before a license will be renewed under
ORS 675.110, a licensee must submit a Renewal Notice and Reporting Affidavit.
(2) A copy of the Renewal Notice
and Reporting Affidavit is available on the Board’s website.
(3) Renewal Notice and Reporting
Affidavits must be postmarked by the due date printed on the notice. Burden of proof
of mailing is on the licensee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 2-1999, f. &
cert. ef. 7-6-99; BPE 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-02; BPE 1-2008, f. & cert.
ef. 3-26-08; BPE 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert.
ef. 1-1-15
858-040-0026
Continuing Education Random Audit
(1) The Board will conduct a random audit
of continuing education compliance each year. Audited licensees will be notified
by letter and given 60 days to respond. Submissions must be postmarked by the stated
due date to be considered timely. Licensee holds the burden of proof of mailing.
(2) Unless the licensee is contacted
for an audit, evidence of completion should not be sent to the Board, but must be
retained by the licensee for two years after the reporting period.
(3) To obtain credit during
an audit, the following information must be typed or printed provided in legible
form on the Board’s Continuing Education Audit Report:
(a) Activity title for multi-session
or multi-day activities, titles of separate sessions attended;
(b) Dates attended, including
month, day, and year;
(c) Organization sponsoring
the program;
(d) Full name and degree of
qualified instructor or discussion leader;
(e) Hours claimed according
to OAR 858-040-0055.
(f) To obtain credit for writing
published articles and books, the following information must be provided on the
Continuing Education Audit Report as follows:
(A) Publisher;
(B) Title of publication;
(C) Dates of publication; and
(D) Hours claimed according
to OAR 858-040-0055.
(4) If a licensee fails to provide
adequate documentation or submits an incomplete Audit Report, the licensee shall
be so notified and granted a period of 30 days to provide the missing information.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 1-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 9-28-10; BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14,
cert. ef. 1-1-15
858-040-0035
Programs Which Qualify for Continuing Education Credit
Policy. Acceptable continuing education
must be a learning activity which contributes directly to the professional competence
of the licensee.
(1) Program Prerequisites. Continuing
Education programs shall qualify for credit if:
(a) The subject matter deals
primarily with substantive psychological issues, skills or Oregon laws, rules and
ethical standards related to one's role as a psychologist or psychologist associate.
(b) The program is conducted
by a qualified instructor or discussion leader. A qualified instructor or discussion
leader is a person whose background, training, education, or experience makes it
appropriate for the person to make a presentation or lead a discussion on the subject
matter; and
(c) A record of attendance,
such as a certificate of completion, is obtained.
(2) Qualifying Programs. The
following shall qualify for continuing education credit, provided that they comply
with all other CE requirements:
(a) Substantive professional
development programs of recognized mental health organizations;
(b) University or college courses
taken at accredited universities and colleges. Each classroom hour shall equal one
qualifying hour;
(c) Formally organized work
place educational programs;
(d) Formally organized study
groups that comply with the following;
(A) At least two other mental
health professionals attend;
(B) The study group prepares
and preserves a syllabus of meeting dates and study topics in advance;
(C) A record is kept of each
study group meeting. The record must include the names of the participants present,
the subject matter and references which relate to any written material utilized;
and
(e) Supervision or Consultation
Received for a fee from an Oregon licensed Psychologist.
(A) Credit shall be given only
to the licensee receiving supervision or consultation, not to the licensee providing
supervision or consultation.
(B) No credit shall be given
to licensees receiving supervision to fulfill licensure or discipline requirements.
(f) Home Study including internet
and tele-courses.
(g) Published articles and books
authored or co-authored by the licensee.
(h) Lecturer: Service as an
instructor, discussion leader, or speaker.
(A) Lecturer credit may be claimed
for work that is either paid or unpaid.
(B) Lecturer credit shall be
allowed for the first time a course is taught. No credit shall be allowed for repeat
presentations unless an instructor can demonstrate that the program content was
substantially changed and such change required significant additional study or research.
(i) Service as an Oregon Board
of Psychologist Examiners member or committee volunteer.
(j) Ethics Committee meetings
of professional associations.
(k) Formal trainings on office
records organization, records maintenance and security procedures, or billing software
instruction.
(l) Reading articles from peer-reviewed
journals.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 2-1999, f. &
cert. ef. 7-6-99; BPE 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-02, 858-040-0035(2) Renumbered
from 858-040-0045; BPE 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-11-02; BPE 1-2008, f. &
cert. ef. 3-26-08; BPE 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 9-28-10; BPE 2-2011, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-11; BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert.
ef. 1-1-15
858-040-0036
Programs Which Do Not Qualify for
Continuing Education Credit
(1) Marketing; investments; and practice
building strategies.
(2) Yoga; therapeutic massage;
(3) Non-Clinical administrative
staff meetings;
(4) Word processing computer
skills;
(5) Therapies which are not
widely recognized as within the scope of practice of psychology, through research
or scientifically demonstrated clinical effectiveness.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 2-2002, f. &
cert. ef. 2-27-02; Renumbered from 858-040-0035(5); BPE 1-2008, f. & cert. ef.
3-26-08; BPE 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 9-28-10;
BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15
858-040-0055
Credit Hours Granted
(1) Credit shall be given for actual hours
attended.
(2) Credit shall be given for
no more than 20 hours of continuing education for home study and study group hours
combined in each reporting period.
(3) An instructor, discussion
leader, or speaker shall be given two hours of credit for preparation for each hour
of presentation time, and one hour of credit for each hour of presentation time.
(4) Credit shall be given for
no more than 20 hours of continuing education for service as an instructor, discussion
leader, or speaker and published material combined in each reporting period.
(5) One hour of continuing education
credit shall be given for reading four peer-reviewed articles. Credit shall be given
for no more than four hours (16 articles) of reading in each reporting period. No
more than two hours of reading may be used to fulfill the professional ethics continuing
education requirement, and no more than two hours of reading may be used to fulfill
the one-time pain management continuing education requirement.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 2-1999, f. &
cert. ef. 7-6-99; BPE 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-02; BPE 1-2008, f. & cert.
ef. 3-26-08; BPE 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2010, f. & cert. ef.
9-28-10; BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15
858-040-0065
Evidence of Completion
(1) Evidence of completion must be retained
by the licensee for a minimum of two years after the reporting period.
(2) Responsibility for documenting
the acceptability of the program and the validity of credit rests with the licensee.
(3) The following shall constitute
evidence of completion:
(a) For academic credit: a copy
of a transcript showing satisfactory completion of the course.
(b) For professional development
or workplace educational programs: a certificate of attendance. A copy of a paid
receipt showing licensee’s name as the payor, along with a conference brochure,
workshop flier or program schedule, may serve as evidence of completion for no more
than eight hours of continuing education credit. Documentation must at minimum show
the qualified instructor(s)’s name and degree, date, start and end time, and
subject matter of the program.
(c) For home study programs:
written evidence of completion from the sponsor.
(d) For formally organized study
groups: a copy of the study group meeting record.
(e) For consultation or supervision
received: copies of a cancelled check or a signed verification by the psychologist
providing services.
(f) For authoring published
material or reading journal articles: a copy of pertinent pages of the material
showing the article/chapter title (if applicable), book/journal name, author(s),
and date of publication.
(g) For lecturer credit: a copy
of the course syllabus, conference brochure, workshop flier, program schedule or
signed verification from the sponsor. Documentation must at minimum show the licensee’s
name as the lecturer, date, start and end time, and subject matter.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(14)
Hist.: BPE 2-1999, f. &
cert. ef. 7-6-99; BPE 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-02; BPE 1-2008, f. & cert.
ef. 3-26-08; BPE 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-10; BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert.
ef. 1-1-15
858-040-0070
Failure to Comply
(1) A Renewal Notice and Reporting Affidavit
shall be deemed timely if it is postmarked by the stated due date of the reporting
year. Burden of proof of mailing is on the licensee.
(2) A licensee whose Renewal
Notice and Reporting Affidavit is not postmarked by stated due date shall pay a
delinquent fee.
(3) An individual whose license
has lapsed for failure to submit a complete Renewal Notice and Reporting Affidavit
and delinquent fee within 30 days after the due date must re-apply for licensure.
(4) Failure to comply or misrepresentation
of compliance is grounds for disciplinary action.
(5) An individual whose license
has been revoked for noncompliance of continuing education requirements must re-apply
for licensure.
(6) A licensee selected for
the continuing education random audit who responds after the stated due date is
subject to disciplinary action, to include but not limited to the following sanction:
(a) Up to 30 days late: $200
delinquent fee.
(b) Up to 60 days late: $300
delinquent fee.
(c) Failure to respond after
60 days late: $500 delinquent fee and the licensee's license will be suspended until
the licensee provides a complete response documenting the licensee's compliance
with the continuing education requirements.
(7) A licensee selected for
the continuing education random audit whose hours are deficient, including a licensee's
failure to submit complete documentation, is subject to disciplinary action, to
include but not limited to the following sanction:
(a) Deficiency of 1 to 10 hours:
$250 fine.
(b) Deficiency of 11 to 20 hours:
$500 fine.
(c) Deficiency of 21 to 30 hours:
$750 fine.
(d) Deficiency of 31 to 40 hours:
$1000 fine.
(e) A licensee found to be deficient
will be given 30 days to complete the deficient hours. Hours made up may not be
double counted towards a subsequent reporting period.
(A) If the licensee fails to
complete the deficient hours within 30 days, an additional $250 fine will be assessed,
and licensee may be subject to further disciplinary action.
(B) If the licensee fails to
complete the deficient hours within 90 days, the licensee’s license will be
suspended for a minimum of 60 days.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.110(3)(14)
Hist.: BPE 1-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 1-8-10; Renumbered from 858-040-0020, BPE 2-2014, f. 6-2-14, cert. ef.
1-1-15

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is
contained in the Administrative Order filed at the Archives Division,
800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the
published version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order.
The Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin are
copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. Terms
and Conditions of Use

Related Laws

2015 Licensure