The North Yorkshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1997

Link to law:
Published: 1997-06-16

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now
Statutory Instruments
1997 No. 1532

The North Yorkshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1997

16th June 1997

Laid before Parliament
25th June 1997

Coming into force
1st August 1997

Whereas the council of the county of North Yorkshire have, in pursuance of section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and after due compliance with the provisions of the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1927(2), submitted to me a draft Order providing for the alteration of the existing division of the said county into coroners' districts:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred upon me by that section 4(2), I hereby make the following Order:


1.  This Order may be cited as the North Yorkshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1997.

Commencement and application

2.—(1) This Order shall come into force on 1st August 1997.

(2) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.

Alteration of coroners' districts

3.—(1) The existing Claro coroner’s district, North Eastern coroner’s district, Scarborough and Ryedale coroner’s district and Western coroner’s district of the county of North Yorkshire shall be abolished.

(2) From the area comprising the coroners' districts mentioned in paragraph (1) above there shall be formed the two coroners' districts named in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order which shall consist of the areas specified in column 2 of the Schedule.

Jack Straw
One of Her Majesty’s Principal Secretaries of State
Home Office
16th June 1997

Article 2


ame of Coroner’s District
Area comprised in Coroner’s District named in column 1

Eastern District
The districts of Hambleton, Ryedale and Scarborough

Western District
The districts of Craven, Harrogate, Richmondshire and Selby

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)
The county of North Yorkshire is divided into the Claro, North Eastern, Scarborough and Ryedale, and Western coroners' districts.
This Order abolishes these four districts and divides North Yorkshire into two new coroner’s districts, Eastern (comprising the districts of Hambledon, Ryedale and Scarborough) and Western (comprising the districts of Craven, Harrogate, Richmondshire and Selby).

1988 c. 13.

S.R. & O. 1927/343.