Proclamation No. 248, s. 1967

Published: 1967-08-25

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.







WHEREAS, section 339 of the National Internal Revenue Code provides in part as follows:

“OPIATE embraces every kind, class, and character of opium, whether crude, prepared, ash, or refuse, and all narcotic preparations thereof or therefrom, and all morphine or alkaloids of opium, and all preparations in which opium, morphine, or any alkaloid of opium enters as an ingredient, together with all opium leaves and wrappings of opium leaves, whether such leaves or wrappings are prepared for use or not and any other drug or substance found by the Secretary of Finance and Secretary of Health, after due notice and opportunity for public hearing, to have an addiction-forming or addiction-sustaining liability similar to morphine or cocaine, and proclaimed by the President of the Philippines as such habit forming narcotic drugs;”

WHEREAS, the Secretary General of the United Nations has notified the Government of the Philippines that the World Health Organization has found and decided that the following drugs shall fall under the regime laid down in the 1931 Convention for drugs specified in Article 1, paragraph 2, Group 1, of that Convention:

1. ACETYLMETHADOL (3-acetoxy-6-dimethylamino-4-4-diphenylheptane) and its salts;

2. ALLYLPRODINE (3-allyl-1-methol-4-phenyl-4-propio-noxypiperidine) and its salts;

3. ALPHACETYLMETHADOL (alpha-3-acetoxy-6-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphenylheptane) and its salts;

4. ALPHAMEPRODINE (alpha-3-ethyl-1-methyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxypiperidine) and its salts;

5. ALPHAMETHADOL (alpha-6-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphenyl-3-heptanol) and its salts;

6. ANILERIDINE (1-para-aminophenethy1-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester) and its salts;

7. BENZETHIDINE (1-(2-benzyloxyethyl)-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester) and its salts;

8. BETACETYLMETHADOL (beta-3-acetoxy-6-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphyenylheptane) and its salts;

9. BETAMETHADOL (beta-6-dimethylamino-4-, 4-diphenyl-3-heptanol) and its salts;

10. CLONITAZENE (2-para-chlorbenzyl-1-diethylaminoethyl-5-nitrobenzimidazole) and its salts;

11. DEXTROMORAMIDE ((+)-4-[2-methyl-4-oxo-3, 3-diphenyl-4-(1-pyrrolidinyl) butyl] morpholine), and its salts;

12. DIAMPROMIDE (N-[2-methylphenethylamino) propyl] propionanilide) and its salts;

13. DIETHYLTHIAMBUTENE (3-diethylamino-1, 1-di-(2′-thienyl)-1-butene) and its salts;

14. DIMENOXADOL (2-dimethylaminoethyl-1-ethoxy-1, 1-diphenylacetate) and its salts;

15. DIMEPHEPTANOL (6-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphenyl-3-heptanol) and its salts;

16. DIMETHYLTHIAMBUTENE (3-dimethylamino-1, 1-di-(2′-thienyl)-1-butene) and its salts;

17. DIOXAPHETYL BUTYRATE (ethyl 4-morpholine-2, 2-diphenylbutyrate) and its salts;

18. DIPHENOXYLATE (1-(3-cyano-3, 3-diphenylpropyl)-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester) and its salts;

19. DIPIPANONE (4, 4-diphenyl-6-piperidine-3 heptanone) and its salts;

20. ETHYLMETHYLTHIAMBUTENE (3-ethylmethylamine-1, 1-di-(2-thienyl)-1-butene) and its salts;

21. ETONITAZENE (1-diethylaminoethyl-2-para-ethoxy-benzyl-5-nitrobenzi-midazole) and its salts;

22. ETOXERIDINE (1-[2-(2-hydroxyethoxy) ethyl]-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

23. FURETHIDINE (1-(2-tetrahydrofurfuryloxyethyl)-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

24. HYDROXYPHETHIDINE (4-meta-hydroxyphenyl-1-methyl-piperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

25. LEVOMETHORPHAN ((–)-3-methoxy-N-methylmorphinan), and its salts;

26. LEVOMORAMIDE ((–)-4-[2-methyl-4-oxo-3, 3-diphenyl-4-(1-pyrrolidinyl) butyl] morpholine), and its salts;

27. LEVOPHENACYLMORPHAN ((–)-3-hydroxy-N-phenacyl-morphinan), and its salts;

28. METAZOCINE (2′-hydroxy-2, 5, 9-trimethyl-6, 7-benzomorphan), and its salts;

29. METOPON (5-methyldihydromorphinone), and its salts;

30. MORPHERIDINE (1-(2-morphelinoethyl)-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

31. NORLEVORPHANOL ((–)-3-hydroxymorphinan), and its salts;

32. NORMETHADONE (6-dimethylamine-4, 4-diphenyl-3-hexanone), and its salts;

33. PHENAMPROMIDE (N-(1-methyl-2-piperidinoethyl) propionanilide), and its salts;

34. PHENAZOCINE (2′-hydroxy-5, 9-dimethyl-2-phenethul-6, 7-benzomorphan), and its salts;

35. PHENOMORPHAN (3-hydroxy-N-phenethylmorphinan), and its salts;

36. PHENOPERIDINE (1-(3-hydroxy-3-phenylpropyl)-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

37. PIMINODINE (4-phenyl-1-(3-phenylaminopropyl) piperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

38. PROHEPTAZINE (1, 3-dimethyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxy-azacycloheptane), and its salts;

39. PROPERIDINE (1-methyl-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid isopropyl ester), and its salts;

40. RACEMETHORPHAN ((+)-3-methoxy-N-methylmorphinan), and its salts;

41. RACEMORAMIDE ((+)-4-[2-methyl-4-oxo-3, 3-diphenyl-4-(1-pyrrolidinyl) butyl] morpholine), and its salts;

42. RACEMORPHAN ((+)-3-hydroxy-N-methylmorphinan), and its salts;

43. TRIMEPERIDINE (1, 2, 5-trimethyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxypiperidine), and its salts;

44. NORACYMETHADOL ((+)-alpha-3-acetoxy-6-methylamino-4, 4-diphenylheptane), and its salts;

45. METHADONE – intermediate (4-cyano-2-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphenylbutane), and its salts;

46. PETHIDINE – intermediate — A (4-cyano-1-methyl-4-phenylpiperidine), and its salts;

47. PETHIDINE – intermediate – B (4-phenyl-piperidine-4-carboxylic acid ethyl ester), and its salts;

48. PETHIDINE – intermediate – C (1-methyl-4-phenyl-piperidine-4-carboxylic acid), and its salts;

49. NORPIPANONE (4, 4-diphenyl-6-piperidine-3-hexanone), and its salts;

50. FENTANYL (1-phenethyl-4-N-propionylanilino-piperidine), and its salts;

51. MORAMIDE – intermediate (2-methyl-3-morpholino-1, 1-diphenylpropanecarboxylic acid), and its salts;

52. PIRITRAMID (1-(3-cyano-3, 3-diphenylpropyl)-4-(1-piperidine) piperidine-4-carboxylic acid amide), and its salts;

WHEREAS, Article 1, paragraph 4, of the 1948 Protocol provides that States parties to the Protocol shall, upon receipt of a notification from the Secretary General of the United Nations, apply to the drugs in question the appropriate regime laid down by the 1931 Convention; and

WHEREAS, the Philippines has acceded to the said Protocol of 1948;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, do hereby proclaim that each of the aforementioned drugs has an addiction-forming or addiction-sustaining liability similar to morphine or cocaine and that these drugs should be placed under narcotic control as laid down in Republic Act No. 953, otherwise known as the Narcotic Drugs Law.

This proclamation shall take effect fifteen (15) days following its publication in the Official Gazette.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of the Republic of the Philippines to be affixed.

Done in the City of Manila, this 16th day of August, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and sixty-seven.


President of the Philippines

By the President:


Executive Secretary

Source: CDAsia

Related Laws