Holidays (1997 And 1998) Ordinance


Published: 1997-07-01

Subscribe to a Global-Regulation Premium Membership Today!

Key Benefits:

Subscribe Now for only USD$20 per month, or Get a Day Pass for only USD$4.99.
Cap 534 - HOLIDAYS (1997 AND 1998) ORDINANCE 1

Chapter: 534 HOLIDAYS (1997 AND 1998) ORDINANCE Gazette Number Version Date

Long title 111 of 1997 01/07/1997


An Ordinance to provide for special holidays during 1997 and for general holidays in 1998 and incidental matters.


[1 July 1997]

(Originally 111 of 1997)

Section: 1 Short title 111 of 1997 01/07/1997


(1) This Ordinance may be cited as the Holidays (1997 and 1998) Ordinance.
(2) (Omitted as spent)


Section: 2 Holidays in 1997 35 of 1998 18/09/1998


(1) The days set out in Schedule 1 are additional statutory holidays for 1997 for the purposes of the
Employment Ordinance (Cap 57). An employer must grant a holiday to an employee for each of the additional
statutory holidays in accordance with section 39 of the Employment Ordinance (Cap 57).

(2) The days set out in Schedule 2 are additional general holidays for 1997 for the purposes of the General
Holidays Ordinance (Cap 149).

(3) Items (n) and (o) of the Schedule to the General Holidays Ordinance (Cap 149) are suspended for 1997.
(Amended 35 of 1998 s. 5)


Section: 3 General holidays for 1998 35 of 1998 18/09/1998


(1) The Schedule to the General Holidays Ordinance (Cap 149) is suspended for 1998.
(2) The days set out in Schedule 3 are the general holidays for 1998 for the purposes of the General Holidays

Ordinance (Cap 149).
(Amended 35 of 1998 s. 5)


Schedule: 1 ADDITIONAL STATUTORY HOLIDAYS FOR 1997 111 of 1997 01/07/1997


[section 2(1)]

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Establishment Day
Tuesday 1 July 1997

The day following the Hong Kong Special
Administrative Region Establishment Day

Wednesday 2 July 1997

National Day Wednesday 1 October 1997



Schedule: 2 ADDITIONAL GENERAL HOLIDAYS FOR 1997 111 of 1997 01/07/1997


[section 2(2)]


Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Establishment Day

Tuesday 1 July 1997

The day following the Hong Kong Special
Administrative Region Establishment Day

Wednesday 2 July 1997

Sino-Japanese War Victory Day Monday 18 August 1997
National Day Wednesday 1 October 1997
The day following National Day Thursday 2 October 1997



Cap 534 - HOLIDAYS (1997 AND 1998) ORDINANCE 2



Schedule: 3 GENERAL HOLIDAYS FOR 1998 111 of 1997 01/07/1997


[section 3(2)]


Every Sunday
The first weekday in January Thursday 1 January
Lunar New Year's Day Wednesday 28 January
The second day of the Lunar New Year Thursday 29 January
The third day of the Lunar New Year Friday 30 January
The day following the Ching Ming Festival Monday 6 April
Good Friday Friday 10 April
The day following Good Friday Saturday 11 April
Easter Monday Monday 13 April
Tuen Ng Festival Saturday 30 May
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Establishment Day
Wednesday 1 July

Sino-Japanese War Victory Day Monday 17 August
National Day Thursday 1 October
The day following National Day Friday 2 October
The day following the Mid-Autumn Festival Tuesday 6 October
Chung Yeung Festival Wednesday 28 October
Christmas Day Friday 25 December
First weekday following Christmas Day Saturday 26 December

Related Laws